Amanda Koster

thoughts and experiences of an international documentarian

web 2.0 after thoughts… the beginning

with 2 comments

its nearly impossible for me to write ‘in the moment’ when i am part of that moment (giving a keynote at a conference, preparing for it and managing the after effects). so i’ll start post-conference.

the sweetest moment for me all last week was right after my keynote a janitor quietly told me how much he enjoyed my presentation.

after i gave the keynote i had a strong feeling. i was a little nervous before the talk, and had ‘not rehearsed’ (cuz that never really works for me) a lot. i got off stage, felt that rush one feels, chatted in the green room for a bit (much more about this later).
i left the green room and had to walk down a really long hall to meet up with a huge crowd. It was very quiet in the hallway, and dark. i left the green room started walking down that long quiet, empty hallway, almost went into my mind thinking but a short older man tapped my on the shoulder. I turned around and stopped.

“I really liked your speech” he told me. He was soft spoken, wearing a janitors uniform short and about 65 years old. “You didn’t say like, uh or umm…”

“Thank you.” I looked in his eyes and smiled.

“it was the best I’ve seen in awhile. You are very real,” he told me.

“you must hear a lot of speeches, huh..” I asked

“I do.” he nodded, smiled, and walked away.

I stood still for a few seconds thinking no one else could have topped that compliment, delivery or just plain moment. That MADE my whole experience at web 2.0. Humbled me. realizing all of the who are people helping out, schlepping chairs, keeping things in order, picking up our soda cans…  our garbage…

it moved me that he was listening, being part of the conference, helping make it happen. and who knows, maybe the people who have signed up for salaamgarage were inspired by his work. he kept the place clean for them so they felt happy, organized, people signed up for salaamgarage and they in turn may help one homeless girl on the street in Jaipur. hungry. all of these guys are listening too.

everyone matters.

Written by amandakoster

April 6, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great Post! It really put things in perspective. Sometimes with all this tech we get so caught up in it we start to miss the little things.

    Melissa LInk

    April 9, 2009 at 2:27 am

  2. so true. its the little things that make the big thing.

    amandakoster

    April 10, 2009 at 8:46 pm


Leave a Reply

