Amanda Koster

thoughts and experiences of an international documentarian

poptech day 1

with one comment

Picture 2

andrew gives me a big bear hug.

i’ll back up.

yesterday i woke up at 4am finished packing, had my usual pot of green tea and enjoyed a very early morning breath of fresh air.

becky picked me up at 5.30am on the dot, she helped me decide on which bag to take with me (ah- still on the research for that perfect laptop bag).

flew to dc, then to portland. about 12 hours of travel with only an open faced sandwich and liter of water in my belly. ooops. at my lay over in dc i poked around online as to how to get from Portland to Camden, my old stomping grounds.

15 years ago i worked as a teacher’s assistant at the maine film and photo workshops. started my career up there, decided one summer photography is what i am doing, period and never looked back. in dc yesterday i was trying to figure out how to get back up there ghetto style as i was spending salaamgarage’s precious pennies.

found a bus that departed from Portland to camden 18 minutes after i landed. i landed, ran straight to the cab who took me to the bus. made it. on the bus wondered how was i going to get from the bus stop to my hotel? ah. sat back and decided to let the universe figure it out. i’m getting tired of figuring this kind of thing out. reminds me when i pissed off my probability and statistics teacher in high school. he called on me for an answer. i shook my head when i stood up and looked at the chalkboard covered in numbers and squiggled, “dr. pearson, its always 50/50: either it happens or it doesn’t.” he shook his head too and hid a very secretive grin. i approached transpiration the same way last night.

get off the bus and there was a car waiting there to drive us around. ‘im your poptech call-me-whenever-you-need-me guy’ steve says as he hands me is card: “needful things and services inc”… no kidding. steve cheerfully drives me to my hotel. huh.

check in, rooms fine enough, read some more, hit the sack.

wake up, skpye my friend punya. we have a in-depth conversation about resistance. that humans create resistance. he disagreed with my use of resistance and said life tests us. i said man creates ‘test’, there is no test at all. life is about flow. we agreed to disagree.

off skpye, out the door, walked into camden. it was absolutely one of the most beautiful days ever. beautiful fall day in new england. i forgot about these leaves and this absolutely majestic palette. i walked down route 1 with my gaze straight up the whole time, in absolute awe of the autumn leaves.

i arrive, met some great people. a nice man took me for tea, we chatted. i jetted for a seminar on storytelling. we split up in groups and gave a 3-5 min preso to the entire audience. my group volunteered me cuz somehow i pulled a funny story out of thin air. so, i spoke, my teammate showed our ‘slides’ (quick sketches). total improv. it was fun. ‘do you think it was good’ she asked. ‘ who cares, we had fun.’ i shrugged with a grin. giggled.

back to the poptech newbie session where i met andrew. ‘hi andrew, i am amanda koster of salamgarage.’ his face lit up and he gave me a huge bear hug. ‘you made it’ andrew personally invited me to poptech, comped my ticket saying he gives a handful of tickets out to a select few, etc. i felt special and also honored. i thanked him and said that was very kind cuz it was.

so then off to the opening night, appetizers, wine, connecting. this is a cool conference, one person after the next i was in awe of what they were up to. i mean, ‘are you serious?’  kept going thru my mind. wow. i’ve found my people. there is tech here where at times i start to go in circles but this is very much tied to changing the world, having an impact, i.e. A: giving a shit and B: doing something about it. my kind of place.

digging it. and really hungry. not much food intake in the last 48 hours. head for the apps, (appetizers, not applications) and dig in.

so i am inspired. it is slowly seeping in after i head home early so that i am not so tired tomorrow and have some time to unwind in my room. journal a bit, read some more ‘a new earth’ for the 2nd time, check out a few websites from earlier today and end up here on my blog.

was tempted to email my friend vanessa demanding how exactly did poptech change her life. didn’t feel any life changes on the walk home. felt cold, and again in awe of the sky. this time it was the stars that brought tears to my eyes.

you know, demanding change is not the way. forcing never works. forcing  in a way is creating resistance. in order to force there must be resistance. and where does it come from? so i looked at where could i be resisting, noticing i was trying to force an answer. force a reason for me to be here. force change into my life after 1/2 a day at a conference. i looked at it i and saw i was resisting the flow of today. the flow i’ve experienced the whole way. you see, life is subtle. period. once we embrace the beautiful subtlety of what life is showing us, peace oozes in. i thought about how happy andrews hug made me feel.

andrew gives me a big bear hug. ‘sorry, you may not have been ready for a huge hug from a stranger.’ i looked at him gently. ‘not at all, that was the most warm welcome. thank you.’

oh, and when i registered they gave me the coolest Timbuktu messenger bag. perfect.

Written by amandakoster

October 22, 2009 at 3:55 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. equal parts jealous and happy for you.

    Vanessa McGrady

    October 22, 2009 at 4:37 am


Leave a Reply

